athletes' COMMISSION executives

The ONOC Athletes’ Commission is an elected body which serves as a link between the athletes and ONOC. It also serves as a bridge to the IOC Athletes’ Commission and the ANOC Athletes’ Commission.

Karo Lelai

  • IOC Athletes' Commission, Liaison
  • ANOC Athletes’ Commission, Chair, 2020
  • ANOC Ethics Commission, Member, 2018
  • ONOC Athletes’ Commission, Chair, 2018
  • PNG Athletes’ Commission (as ONOC Athletes’ Commission Rep.)
  • HIV Prevention through Sport Committee (as ONOC Athletes’ Commission Chair) 
  • PNG National Basketball, Rep. (Ret.)
  • PNG Basketball Federation, President 
  • FIBA Oceania, Board member
  • FIBA Central Board, representing women in Oceania.

Inoke Niubalavu

vice CHAIR
  • ONOC Athletes’ Commission, Vice Chair, 2017
  • FASANOC Executive Board, Member (Athletes’ Representative), 2018 - 2020 
  • Fiji Islands Baseball & Softball Association (FIBSA), Secretary General, 2020
  • World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) - Oceania, Member-at-Large, 2018

James Tomkins

ioc member
  • IOC Athletes' Commission, 2014
  • IOC Olympic Programme Commission, 2014
  • IOC Marketing Commission, 2015
  • ONOC Executive Board, Member
  • ONOC Athletes’ Commission, Member
  • Australian Olympic Committee, Board Member, 2008
  • Sport Australia Hall of Fame, Board Member, 2008-2017
  • Awards: Medal of the Order of Australia (1987) for service to rowing; Inducted into Sport Australia Hall of Fame

Sarah Walker

ioc member
  • New Zealand Olympic Ambassador
  • IOC Member, 2016-
  • IOC Sustainability and Legacy Commission, 2016-
  • IOC Women in Sport Commission, 2016-2018
  • IOC Coordination for the Games of the XXXIII Olympiad Paris 2024, 2017-
  • IOC Digital and Technology Commission, 2018-
  • Olympic Sport: Cycling (BMX)
  • Member of the International cycling Union (UCI) BMX Commission

Kenneth Wallace

  • ONOC Medical Commission, Member, 2017 -
  • Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) Athletes’ Commission, Member, 2012-2016
  • Order of Australia (OAM) Medal, 2009
  • Olympic Games, Beijing 2008: Gold Medal (1), Olympic Games (Beijing) - CanoeingBronze Medal (2), Canoeing
  • Sportsman of the Year, Australian Institute of Sports (AIS), 2007
  • Gold Coast Sportsman of the Year, 2008
  • Sydney Sunday Telegraph Sportsman of the Year, 2008

Jennifer Anson

  • PNOC Athletes’ Commission, Chair
  • PNOC Executive Board, Member (Athletes’ Rep.)
  • Olympic Games, Judo, 2012 London Summer Games

Edith Nicholas

  • ONOC Equity Commission, Member
  • CISNOC Athletes’ Commission, Chair
  • Cook Islands National Touch Rugby, Rep.
  • Cook Islands National Rugby Sevens, Rep.
  • Awards: Gold Medallist, Pacific Games, 2015

Anolyn Lulu

  • ONOC Education Commission, Member
  • Coordinator, STOP HIV Programme, Vanuatu Association of Sport and National Olympic Committee (VASANOC)
  • Sport Development Officer (SDO) (VASANOC)
  • Represented Vanuatu in Table tennis at the 2012 London Summer Olympics

Ryan Pini, MBE

member - Pacific Games Council Rep.
  • PNG Athletes’ Commission, Chair
  • PNG Sports Anti-doping Organisation (as PNGOC Athletes’ Commission Chair)
  • PNGOC Executive Board, Member (Athletes’ Representative)
  • Olympic Games: Swimming - Participation in 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016 Summer Games
    (First PNG swimmer to reach an Olympic final)
  • Pacific Games Council, Board Member
  • Member of the Order of the British Empire, 2005
  • Papua New Guinea SP Sportsman of the Year Award, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2011, 2015
  • Papua New Guinea SP Lifetime Achievement Award, 2008
  • The ONOC Male Oceania Athlete of the Year Award, 2015
  • South Pacific Games Male Swimmer of the Meet, 2003 (won 7 events, 4 in Games Records)

Tessa-Maree Harman

  • FASANOC Athletes’ Commission, Member
  • FASANOC Voices of the Athletes’ Educator (Regional)
  • Fiji Chess Federation, Executive Member
  • Fiji National Representative, Hockey
  • Events & Travel Officer, ONOC

Members of IOC AC Commission from Oceania

Karo Lelai

PNG, Basketball

Sarah Walker

NZ, Cycling

James Tomkins

Australia, Rowing

Members of ANOC Athletes’ Commission from Oceania

Karo Lelai

Chairperson, PNG

Barbara Kendall